On Prometheus

Thank you Graham! Reblogging…

Graham Edwards

Prometheus PosterMost people who like cinema have a movie that shines like a beacon in their memory, brighter than all the rest. Mine is Alien. I was there for its first release in 1979, sneaking past the warning signs in the theatre foyer even though I was too young for the movie’s X-certificate. ‘This film contains stroboscopic lighting effects!’ one of the signs screamed. Another suggested that if I was pregnant I might want to give this one a miss.

I ignored the warnings and let Alien carry me away to that distant, dark world. I loved it then, and love it still. Two of my all-time favourite ‘making of’ books are The Book of Alien and Giger’s Alien. I can even tell you, without looking it up, that the registration number of the commercial towing vehicle Nostromo (out of the Solomons and looking for Antarctica Traffic Control) is

View original post 683 more words

3 comments on “On Prometheus

Leave a Reply

